Arkansas state court system

Understanding how the system of Arkansas state court works is very important as it helps you find court records easily.

Arkansas Courts Overview

When trying to find court records in Arkansas, you can begin by going to the courts by county. The trial court system of Arkansas State consists of District Courts and Superior Courts.

Arkansas Circuit Courts

Circuit Courts of Arkansas have general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases. They can handle all criminal cases and civil cases with claims exceeding $100. However, these courts generally hear only those cases that other courts have no jurisdiction to handle.

Criminal cases that Circuit Courts handle include felonies, lesser-included offenses, and some misdemeanor.

These courts share jurisdiction over civil claims not exceeding $25,000 with State District Courts. They also share jurisdiction over civil claims not exceeding $5,000 with Local District Courts. They have exclusive jurisdiction over all civil equity claims.

Besides, Circuit Courts also hear mental health cases, probate, juvenile, and domestic relations. The case types include civil commitments, guardianships, administration of state, divorce, and child abuse and neglect.

In some instances, Circuit Courts may refer some types of criminal and civil cases to State District Courts. It’s important to note that referral of most probate cases, domestic relations cases, and civil cases require the permission and consent the parties involved.

Arkansas District Courts

District Courts have limited jurisdiction to hear certain types of criminal and civil cases. There are Local District Courts and State District Courts.

Criminal cases handled by both State District Courts and Local District Courts include preliminary hearings for all the types of criminal cases and most types of misdemeanors. District Courts also hear local ordinance violations and traffic cases.

District courts have exclusive jurisdiction over all civil claims of up to $100. State District Courts share jurisdiction over civil claims ranging between $100 and $5,000 with Circuit Courts.

State District Courts can also handle certain types of criminal and civil cases referred by the Circuit Court. However, referral of most probate case, domestic relations, and civil cases usually require the consent of every party. Every District Court typically has a Small Claims division for handling most general civil claims of less than $5000.

To easily find court records in Arkansas, you should start by understanding all types of cases and the types of courts as per the state criminal court system. Start your search of court records by going to the state courts by county and you will be able to easily find all the court records.

The Official Website of Arkansas County

Little Rock City of Little Rock, Arkansas – Capital City – Pulaski County | City of Little Rock
Fort Smith City of Fort Smith, Arkansas
Fayetteville Fayetteville, AR – Official Website
Jonesboro Jonesboro, AR | Official Website
North Little Rock Home – North Little Rock
Conway Conway Arkansas
Rogers Rogers, AR – Official Website
Pine Bluff City Of Pine Bluff Welcome to the City of Pine Bluff Arkansas! You will find Civil War, Railroad, Hotel Pines or Mural History with great dining, art and cultural events
Bentonville Bentonville, AR | Official Website
Hot Springs Hot Springs, AR – Official Website
Bentont Benton City, WA – Official Website
Texarkana City of Texarkana Official Website Hub for the City of Texarkana
Sherwood Sherwood, AR | Official Website
Jacksonville Jacksonville, AR – Official Website
Russellville Russellville, AR – Official Website
Pulaski County Pulaski Circuit/County Clerk
Washington County Washington County, AR
Sebastian County Sebastian County Government
Faulkner County Faulkner County – Official Website
Saline County Saline County Arkansas Saline County, Arkansas government serves the communities of Benton, Alexander, Bryant, Haskell, Shannon Hills and Traskwood.
Craighead County Craighead County | Craighead County Arkansas
Jefferson County Jefferson County, Arkansas Jefferson County, Arkansas government serves the communities of Pine Bluff, White Hall, Redfield, Altheimer, Wabbaseka, Sherrill, Sulphur Springs
White County White County Arkansas
Crawford County Welcome – Crawford County, Arkansas
Pope County Welcome To The Official Pope County, Arkansas Site
Crittenden County Crittenden County, Arkansas Crittenden County, Arkansas website. Find Crittenden County cities, Crittenden County schools, and Crittenden County online services
Mississippi County Mississippi County, AR Mississippi County, Arkansas government serves the communities of Blytheville, Gosnell, Joiner, Keiser, Leachville, Manila, and Osceola.
Miller County Miller County Arkansas
Greene County Greene County Courthouse in Paragould, AR
Union County Union County AR
Baxter County Baxter County Government – Arkansas Official website of Baxter County Government.Official website of Baxter County Government.
Boone County Boone County AR Government Boone County, Arkansas government serves the communities located in the heart of the Ozark Mountains.
Independence County Independence County AR – City of Batesville AR – Independence County Government
Carroll County Welcome to Carroll County Arkansas
Cleburne County Cleburne County Arkansas | Official County Government Website Cleburne County Arkansas welcomes you to our website with information for both newcomers and current residents, students and scholars, and anyone interested in the county and what it has to offer.
Johnson County Johnson County, Arkansas
Poinsett County Welcome to Poinsett County, AR Welcome to Poinsett County, AR
Columbia County Columbia County, Arkansas Columbia County, Arkansas government serves the communities of Magnolia, Emerson, McNeil, Taylor, and Waldo.
Clark County Clark County, Arkansas
Hempstead County Hempstead County Sheriff’s Office Offering community resources including offender information, most wanted, press releases, and contact information for Hempstead County, Arkansas.
Logan County Logan County |
Yell County Official Website of Yell County, Arkansas
Ashley County Ashley County, the fifth-largest county in Arkansas in terms of land area, was formed in 1848. It was named after Chester Ashley, a US Senator.
Phillips County Phillips County, Arkansas Phillips County, Arkansas website. Find Phillips County cities, Phillips County schools, and Phillips County online services
Drew County Drew County, Arkansas Drew County, Arkansas website. Find Drew County cities, Drew County schools, and Drew County online services
Jackson County Jackson County |
Arkansas County Sharp County, Arkansas Sharp County, Arkansas website. Find Sharp County cities, Sharp County schools, and Sharp County online services.
Cross County Cross County AR Government Serving the communities of Cherry Valley, Hickory Ridge, Parkin, and Wynne in northeast Arkansas.
Van Buren County Van Buren County