Indiana state court system

Understanding how the system of Indiana state court works is very important as it helps you find court records easily.

Indiana Courts Overview

The trial court system of Indiana State consists of St. Joseph County Probate Court, Marion County Small Claims Courts, Tax Court, City and Town Courts, Superior Courts, and Circuit Courts.

To make your work easier, start searching for court records in Indiana by simply going to courts by county.

Indiana Circuit Courts

Indiana Circuit Courts have original and general jurisdiction over all criminal and civil cases, but typically handle on those cases that other courts have no jurisdiction to handle.

Civil cases that Circuit courts hear include general civil claims that are beyond the capacity or jurisdiction of other courts. In counties where Superior Courts are not available, Circuit Courts handle even small claim cases, with an exception of Marion County where there is Small Claims Court in every township.

Criminal cases that Circuit Courts handle include all types of lesser included offenses and felonies. They also handle ordinance violations and misdemeanors in counties where Superior Courts are not available.

These courts hear the majority domestic relations cases, including domestic violence protection orders, paternity, child custody, child support, and divorce. Circuit Courts share some jurisdiction over juvenile cases with Superior Courts. Such juvenile cases include termination of parental rights, child abuse and neglect, and juvenile delinquency. These courts also handle majority of juvenile matters.

They also share jurisdiction over probate matters and mental health cases with Superior Courts.

Indian Superior Courts

Indian Superior Courts have general jurisdiction over most criminal and civil cases, but jurisdiction generally varies by county. They may have specialized divisions including Family, Civil, and Criminal.

Criminal cases that Superior Courts handle include misdemeanors and felonies. Civil cases include the general civil claims. Other than in Marion County where Small Claims Courts are in every township, Superior Courts also hear small claims cases.

Indiana City and Town Courts

These courts have exclusive jurisdiction over all town or city ordinance violations, some misdemeanor criminal cases, and infractions. These courts are not allowed to handle certain types of cases, including injunctive relief, dissolution of marriage, equity, most probate matters, libel, slander, and other cases involving title or real estate.

Marion County Small Claims Courts

Every Township of Marion County has its own Small Claims Court with exclusive jurisdiction to handle most civil cases with less than $6,000 disputed amount, including landlord-tenant cases.

Indiana Tax Court

It operates outside the central office in Indianapolis and handles statewide cases. The Indiana Tax Court has limited jurisdiction over most cases related to tax laws. The cases include appeals of the tax decisions that other various state agencies have made.

St. Joseph County Probate Court

This court shares jurisdiction with Superior Court and Circuit Court over states, trust administration and protected persons. Besides, the Indian St. Joseph County Probate Court has limited jurisdiction over child protection, juvenile delinquency, adoptions and paternity cases.

Indiana St. Joseph County Probate Court

St. Joseph County has a separate Probate Court that shares jurisdiction with Circuit Court and Superior Court over estates, protected persons and trust administration.

The St. Joseph County Probate Court also has exclusive jurisdiction over adoptions, juvenile delinquency, child protection and paternity cases.

The Official Website of Indiana County

Lafayette Lafayette, IN – Official Website
Muncie City of Muncie Indiana
Terre Haute Welcome to the City of Terre Haute — City of Terre Haute Government
Kokomo Welcome to Kokomo, Indiana
Noblesville City of Noblesville, Indiana The official government website of city of noblesville, Indiana.
Anderson Anderson, IN – Official Website
Marion County City of Indianapolis and Marion County
Lake County .:: Lake County Indiana ::.
Allen County Allen County Official site government site. Features county services, departments, officials and includes event calendar and community links.
Hamilton County Hamilton County, IN | Official Website
St. Joseph County St. Joseph County, IN | Official Website
Elkhart County Home – Elkhart County
Tippecanoe County Tippecanoe County, IN | Official Website
Porter County Porter County, IN – Official Website
Hendricks County Home / Hendricks County, IN The official website of Hendricks County, Indiana
Monroe County Monroe County, IN The official website of Monroe County, Indiana
Madison County Welcome to Madison County, Indiana
Delaware County Delaware County, IN / Home The official website of Delaware County, Indiana
LaPorte County LaPorte County Online Government
Vigo County Vigo County, Indiana The Official Government Website of Vigo County, Indiana. The Vigo County Government website has been designed to provide citizens easy access to government information and online services.
Clark County Clark County Indiana Community Portal Clark County Indiana Community Portal
Howard County Howard County Indiana Government Howard County Indiana is a thriving community with robust business and agriculture sectors. Our quality of life is unmatched. Our culture reflects our values.
Floyd County Floyd County Indiana Government Floyd County Indiana Government
Kosciusko County Kosciusko County, IN The official website of the Kosciusko County, Indiana Government
Kosciusko County Kosciusko County, IN The official website of the Kosciusko County, Indiana Government
Bartholomew County Official website of the Bartholomew County, Indiana Government. United States of America
Wayne County Wayne County Indiana Government Home Page Official Classic Website for Wayne County Indiana Government
Grant County Grant County Indiana Home Grant County Indiana Home
Morgan County Morgan County Indiana – Morgan County Indiana
Warrick County Warrick County
Boone County Boone County
Dearborn County Dearborn County, Indiana The official website of Dearborn County, Indiana
Henry County Henry County, Indiana – Welcome to Henry County, Indiana
Noble County Noble County, Indiana
Lawrence County Limestone County – Visit Lawrence County
Marshall County Marshall County, IN The official website of the Marshall County, Indiana Government
Shelby County Shelby County Government
Jackson County Welcome to Jackson County
Cass County Cass County | Government Information The Cass county Government is here to protect and serve the citizens of Cass County. Find out about county planning, departments, and services for residents