Iowa state court system

Understanding how the system of Iowa state court works is very important as it helps you find court records easily.

Iowa Courts Overview

The trial court system of Iowa State consists of District Courts. The trial court system of the state of Iowa is a unified one with District Court exercising the general jurisdiction over all cases.

To make your work easier, start searching for court records in Iowa by simply going to courts by county. The jurisdiction of the District Court is limited whenever original jurisdiction over a particular type of case has been assigned to another administrative agency, tribunal or type of court.

By reading this post, you will get the general information about Iowa court system and the type of cases handled in what type of court.

Iowa District Courts

Iowa District Courts have general jurisdiction to handle all criminal and civil cases, with some few exceptions.

Each District Court has divisions for Small Claims, Juvenile Court and Probate Court. In addition to these divisions, some District Courts in Iowa also have divisions based particularly on case type, such as Domestic Relations, Civil, Special, and Criminal. “Special” cases are simply some types of civil cases which do not actually involve the recovery of a penalty, the redress or prevention of private wrongs, or enforcement of private rights.

The cases that fall within the jurisdiction limits of District Courts may be heard by an Associate Juvenile Judge, District Judge, Judicial Magistrate, Associate Probate Judge, or District Associate Judge. Every type of judge has specific jurisdiction to handle certain types of cases. For example, A District Judge has general jurisdiction to handle all types of cases that District Court has the jurisdiction to handle. On the other hand, other remaining types of judges have limited jurisdiction to only handle certain types of cases depending on what court a judge presides over.

District Courts have Juvenile Court divisions with original jurisdiction to handle termination of parental rights, voluntary foster care placement proceedings, majority of juvenile delinquency, families in need of assistance, children in need of assistance, and cases that involve hearings of abortion notification waiver.

District Courts also have the Probate Court divisions with jurisdiction to handle trustees, trusts, conservatorships and guardianships, actions for accounting, the construction of wills, the estates of absentees and decedents, and other many probate cases.

District Courts also have Small Claims divisions. The Small Claims divisions provide a simplified procedure for certain civil claims that involve disputed money in limited amounts, including certain types of landlord-tenant cases.

The Official Website of Iowa County

Cedar Falls Cedar Falls, IA – Official Website
Marion City of Marion, IA
Bettendorf Bettendorf, IA The official website of the City of Bettendorf, Iowa
Polk County Polk County Iowa
Linn County Linn County, IA – Official Website
Scott County Scott County, Iowa |
Black Hawk County Black Hawk County IA | Official Website
Woodbury County Woodbury County, Iowa
Dubuque County Dubuque County
Story County Story County, IA – Official Website
Dallas County Dallas County, IA
Clinton County Clinton County, Iowa
Warren County Warren County, Iowa
Muscatine County Muscatine County, IA – Official Website
Marshall County Marshall County, Iowa—Marshall County, Iowa
Des Moines County Des Moines County, IA – Official Website
Webster County Welcome to Webster County Iowa
Jasper County Jasper County, IA | Official Website
Lee County Welcome to Lee County Boone County, IA! Official Lee County, Iowa website, the main site for all things related to County Government in Lee County, Iowa. Courthouse located in Fort Madison and Keokuk, Iowa.
Wapello County Official Wapello County Website
Sioux County Sioux County, Iowa – Official County Courthouse Website Welcome to the official Sioux County Iowa website, featuring news, information and links from the Sioux County government departments.
Marion County Welcome to Marion County, Iowa! Official Marion County, Iowa website, the main site for all things related to County Government in Marion County, Iowa.
Boone County Boone County, IA
Benton County Homepage – Benton County Iowa
Bremer County Welcome to Bremer County, IA
Mahaska County Welcome to Mahaska County, Iowa |
Washington County Washington County, IA – Official Website
Winneshiek County Welcome to Winneshiek County | Winneshiek County
Buchanan County Welcome to Buchanan County, IA
Fayette County Fayette County, Iowa
Carroll County Carroll County Iowa Government Website Home Page This is the home page for Carroll County Iowa local government. Information about all aspects of doing business witht he county can be found here.
Jones County jonescounty
Buena Vista County Buena Vista County
Henry County Welcome to Henry County Iowa! Official Henry County, Iowa website, the main site for all things related to County Government in Henry County, Iowa. Courthouse located in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa.
Jackson County Welcome to Jackson County Iowa! Official Jackson County, Iowa website, the main site for all things related to County Government in Jackson County, Iowa. Courthouse located in Maquoketa, Iowa.
Poweshiek County Poweshiek County Iowa Poweshiek County Iowa – On this website, you will find information on some of the services provided by Poweshiek County. In addition, you will find state and county forms that you may need. The navigation bar on the left will take you to the main pages for various county departments or in some cases to other county websites. The community links will take you to the local website or map of the community.
Cedar County Welcome to Cedar County Iowa! Official Cedar County, Iowa website, the main site for all things related to County Government in Cedar County, Iowa. Courthouse located in Tipton, Iowa.
Clayton County Clayton County, Iowa Official Website of Clayton County, Iowa