Kansas State Court System

Understanding how the system of Kansas state court works is very important as it helps you find court records easily.

Kansas Courts Overview

Are you trying to find Kansas court records? If yes, then this post is for you. Continue reading to learn and understand the Kansas court system and how it works as it will help you find the court records easily.

The trial court system of Kansas State consists of Municipal Courts, County Courts, and District Courts. Kansas District Courts have general and overall jurisdiction over all criminal and civil cases. However, they typically handle only those cases that are beyond the jurisdiction limit of other courts.

There are some cities in Kansas that have Municipal Courts. These Municipal Courts have exclusive jurisdiction to handle city ordinance violations.

To make your work easier, start searching for court records in Kansas by simply going to courts by county. Here is the Kansas state court system in details.

Kansas District Courts

Generally, Kansas District Courts have exclusive jurisdiction over all criminal and civil cases, unless another court with the jurisdiction to handle the case exercises that authority.

District Courts may have several specialized court divisions that are based squarely on case type, including Limited Actions cases, Juvenile cases, Probate cases, Domestic Relations cases, Criminal cases, and Civil cases. Limited Actions cases may include Traffic cases and Small Claims. Other specialized may also exist, including Youth Court or Drug Court. Drug Court and Youth Court are special programs within District Courts that focus mainly on rehabilitating some offenders who commit certain types of crimes.

A case in a District Court may be presided over by District Magistrate Judge or a District Judge. This means that there may be District Magistrate Judges and District Judges in a Kansas District Court. A District Magistrate Judge has exclusive jurisdiction to preside over and pass judgment concerning certain types of cases. A District Judge has jurisdiction to preside over all types of cases that a District Court has jurisdiction over.

Kansas County Courts

There is a County Court in Sedgwick County. The Sedgwick County Court generally handles enforcement of county resolutions and codes, including traffic infractions, parking violations, nuisance citations, and misdemeanors that have been committed in unincorporated areas within the county. Sedgwick County Court also hears violations of parents who do not turn up to pick up their children who are supposed to be released from the Juvenile Intake and Assessment Center. It also handles trespassing and illegal damping within the “Big Ditch” area. There is a County Court only at Sedgwick County.

Kansas Municipal Courts

Kansas Municipal Courts have exclusive jurisdiction over cases that involve violations of city ordinances, including minor criminal offenses and traffic offenses. Jury trials cannot be offered by Municipal Courts.

The Official Website of Kansas County

Wichita City Hall Wichita, Kansas
Overland Park City Government – City of Overland Park, Kansas City Government on City of Overland Park, Kansas – Mayor’s OfficeThe mayor presides over all City Council meetings and signs all ordinances, resolutions, contracts and agreements authorized by the Governing Body.Municipal CourtThe Municipal Court is the judicial branch of the city, handling all…
Kansas City Kansas City
Olathe City of Olathe
Topeka City of Topeka | Official Site of the City of Topeka This is the official website for the City of Topeka. Here you can pay your utility bills, look up city code and ordinances, find programs, and more!
Lawrence City of Lawrence, Kansas | Government and City Services The City of Lawrence, Kansas official website. Information on city government, city services, news, events, jobs, payments, and more.
Shawnee City of Shawnee
Manhattan Manhattan, KS – Official Website The City of Manhattan, Kansas, provides municipal services for more than 50,000 residents.
Lenexa City of Lenexa
Salina Welcome to the City of Salina, Kansas
Hutchinson Hutchinson, KS | Official Website
Leavenworth City of Leavenworth, Kansas The Official Website of the City of Leavenworth, Kansas
Leawood City of Leawood, KS – Growing with Distinction
Dodge City Dodge City, KS – Official Website
Garden City Garden City
Johnson County Johnson County Kansas The official website of Johnson County Kansas Government serving citizen and business information needs.
Shawnee County Online Home · Shawnee County (Shawnee County, Kansas) Welcome to Shawnee County, Kansas. We strive to provide excellent service to our residents.
Wyandotte County Wyandotte County
Douglas County Welcome | Douglas County Kansas Official website of Douglas County, Kansas. Founded in 1854, Douglas County has a rich history. Great cities & towns located here include Lawrence, Eudora, Lecompton, and Baldwin City.
Leavenworth County Leavenworth County, Kansas
Riley County Riley County Official Website
Butler County Butler County, KS – Official Website
Reno County Reno County, KS – Official Website
Saline County Saline County
Crawford County CRAWFORD COUNTY, KS – Official Site The official website of Crawford County Kansas Government.
Geary County Geary County, Kansas
Finney County Finney County, KS – Official Website
Cowley County Cowley County
Harvey County Harvey County Harvey County is located in south central Kansas, along the Little Arkansas River. Harvey County is approximately ten miles north of the City of Wichita, and is within the northern portion of the Wichita Metropolitan Statistical Area. The County encompasses 540 square miles, is 18 miles wide in its north-south dimension and 30 miles long in its east-west dimension. Harvey County is an excellent location for both highway and railroad travel. Interstate I-135 lies north to south in the middle of the County, Highway 50 lies east to west through the County, and the Amtrak-mainline of the Burlington-Santa Fe Railroad lies east to west through the County.
Ford County Manhattan, KS – Official Website
Lyon County Lyon County Kansas | 430 Commercial Emporia, Ks 66801 (620)-341-4380
Miami County Miami County, KS – Official Website
McPherson County McPherson County Official Website
Ellis County Ellis County, KS – Official Website
Barton County Barton County
Franklin County Franklin County, KS – Official Website
Sumner County Sumner County, Kansas > About Sumner County
Seward County Seward County, KS – Official Website
Pottawatomie County Pottawatomie County, KS – Official Website
Labette County Labette County, Kansas The Official Website of Labette County, Kansas
Cherokee County Cherokee County, Kansas
Dickinson County Dickinson County, KS – Official Website
Jefferson County Jefferson County, KS – Official Website
Atchison County the Atchison County Official Website!!
Neosho County Welcome to Neosho County Community College
Osage County Osage County, Kansas
Bourbon County Bourbon County
Jackson County Welcome to Jackson County, Kansas Jackson County, Kansas is a northeast Kansas, rural community. Holton holds the county seat.
Allen County Welcome to Allen County, Kansas!
Marion County Marion County, Kansas