North Dakota State Court System

Understanding how the system of North Dakota state court works is very important as it helps you find court records easily.

North Dakota Courts Overview

To make your work easier, start searching for court records in Florida by simply going to courts by county.

The trial court system of North Dakota State consists of Municipal Courts and District Courts.

District Courts

North Dakota District Courts have general jurisdiction to handle all types of case, but generally handle only those cases that are beyond the jurisdiction limit of Municipal Courts.   In other words, these courts generally don’t handle any trial for municipal ordinance violation which is within the jurisdiction limit of Municipal Courts.

They handle all types of criminal cases. District Courts can also hear municipal ordinance violation cases that Municipal Courts have transferred to them if a proper request is made and a right to a jury trial also exists.

District Courts hear all types of civil case, including probate matters, mental health, juvenile, general civil cases, and domestic relations matters.

District Courts have a Small Claims Court divisions for handling most general civil claims with less than $5,000 in dispute, if all parties agree to the jurisdiction of Small Claims Court. A Small Claims Court division can handle cases for money recovery and cases connected to the cancellation of agreements when deception, mental fraud, false promise or misrepresentation is alleged. A case can be dismissed and may be filed instead at the regular civil District Court division if it has complex legal issues or complex facts.

Every District Court has a Juvenile Court division with limited original jurisdiction to handle cases that allege that a juvenile is deprived, unruly or delinquent.

District Courts may also, under certain circumstances, exercise exclusive jurisdiction over certain civil claims from the Tribal territories, including enforcement of some Tribal Court orders and claims connected to guardians that a Tribal Court has appointed.

Municipal Courts

North Dakota Municipal Courts have exclusive jurisdiction to handle certain types of cases. Generally, these courts handle majority of violations of municipal ordinances.

These courts cannot offer jury trials. Therefore, in case a right to a jury trial is available and a proper request is made and granted, the case is usually transferred to the District Court.

Tribal Courts

There is a separate Tribal Court in North Dakota that can interact with the state’s District Courts. Tribal Courts are operated by Native Americans in North Dakota State. District Courts sometimes enforce the orders of Tribal Courts.

The Official Website of North Dakota County

Fargo The City of Fargo Page
Bismarck Bismarck, ND – Official Website
Grand Forks City of Grand Forks, ND | City of Grand Forks Grand Forks, ND is located along the North Dakota/Minnesota border along the Red River of the North. Grand Forks is the proud home of the University of North Dakota and the Grand Forks Air Force Base.
Minot Minot, ND | Official Website
West Fargo West Fargo, ND | Official Website
Williston Welcome to Williston, ND
Dickinson City of Dickinson
Mandan City of Mandan, North Dakota
Jamestown Visit Jamestown North Dakota, the Buffalo City and the home of the rare white buffalo and the Worlds Largest Buffalo Monument. This family friendly destination has something for everyone!
Wahpeton Official Website of the City of Wahpeton, North Dakota
Devils Lake City of Devils Lake, North Dakota
Watford City Watford City North Dakota Watford City is the County Seat of McKenzie County and is your destination for vacation fun. Hometown pride and visionary spirit drive the residents of this progressive ranching community.
Valley City City of Valley City – City of Valley City
Grafton City of Grafton, North Dakota
Lincoln Welcome to City of Lincoln, ND
Cass County Cass County, ND
Burleigh County Burleigh County Serving the residents of Burleigh County in North Dakota.
Grand Forks County Welcome | Grand Forks County
Ward County Ward County, ND – Official Website
Morton County Morton County, North Dakota
Stark County Stark County, North Dakota
Williams County Williams County Nestled in northwestern North Dakota, Williams County was organized on December 8, 1891. The County seat, Williston, is located on the great Missouri River. Agriculture, oil, and tourism are the basis of our economy.
Stutsman County Stutsman County, North Dakota Official website for Stutsman County, North Dakota local government. County Department information, news, events, Commission meetings, minutes and more.
Rolette County Rolette County
Ramsey County Ramsey County, ND | Official Website
Walsh County Walsh County, North Dakota Description
Barnes County Barnes County Webpage
McLean County McLean County, North Dakota
Mercer County Mercer County
Traill County Traill County, ND
Mountrail County Mountrail County
Pembina County Pembina County, ND
Benson County Benson County
Bottineau County Bottineau North Dakota
McKenzie County McKenzie County North Dakota McKenzie County is located in the western North Dakota in the heart of the Williston Basin. The community enjoys a diversified economy in a small town setting. Agriculture, oil extraction, financial services, software support and tourism industries provide the foundation of the economic base here.
McHenry County McHenry County North Dakota
Dickey County Official website of Dickey County
Pierce County Pierce County, North Dakota
Wells County Wells County, North Dakota
LaMoure County Lamoure County North Dakota Official Website
Cavalier County Cavalier County
Sargent County Sargent County North Dakota | Official Site
Dunn County Dunn County, ND
Foster County Foster County, North Dakota Foster County is 644 square miles of land located near the center of North Dakota. The seat of the Foster County government is located in Carrington, ND.
Bowman County Welcome to Bowman County North Dakota – A Great Place to Live!
Nelson County Nelson County, North Dakota
Renville County Renville County North Dakota
Griggs County Griggs County
Grant County Welcome to GRANT COUNTY, ND
Eddy County Eddy County – New Rockford, ND Welcome to the official home page for the City of New Rockford, North Dakota

North Dakota Arrests and Inmate Search

Barnes County Correctional Facility Barnes County Inmate List
Burleigh County Detention Center Burleigh County Inmate Search
List of Inmates in Cass County Jail | Cass County, ND Cass County Inmate Tracker
Sheriff’s Office – Morton County, North Dakota Morton County North Dakota Courthouse
Jail Inmate Roster – Stutsman County Stutsman County Inmate Roster
Ward County Inmate Locator | Ward County, ND – Official Website Ward County Inmate Locator
Correctional Center – Williams County Williams County Jail Roster
Home | North Dakota Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation North Dakota Department of Corrections
Background Check v. ND Criminal History Record Check | Attorney General Background Check v. ND Criminal History Record Check
North Dakota Public Data Access North Dakota Court Case Information Lookup
North Dakota Sex Offender Web Site North Dakota Sex Offender Registry