South Dakota state court system

Understanding how the system of South Dakota state court works is very important as it helps you find court records easily.

South Dakota Courts Overview

When you understand the court system of South Dakota State, you will know which court to go to for what court records. To make your work easier, start searching for court records in South Dakota by simply going to courts by county.

The trial court system of South Dakota State consists of Magistrate Courts and Circuit Courts.

Circuit Courts

South Dakota Circuit Courts have general jurisdiction to handle all types of cases, both criminal and civil cases. However, Circuit Courts generally handle only those cases that Magistrate Courts have no jurisdiction over.

Criminal cases generally handled by these courts include certain municipal ordinance violations, some misdemeanors, and felonies.

Civil cases generally handled by South Dakota Magistrate Courts include the general civil claims with up to $12,000 in damages. These courts also handle probate matters, domestic relations, juvenile matters, and equity cases, including annulment, domestic violence protection, conservatorships, annulment, divorce, guardianship, disputes over the boundary or title to real property, proceedings in equity, and proceedings in chancery.

Some Circuit Courts operate drug court divisions for handling some types of nonviolent criminal cases committed by persons with substance abuse problems.

Magistrate Courts

South Dakota Magistrate Courts have exclusive jurisdiction to handle certain types of criminal and civil cases. Criminal cases generally handled by Ministration Courts include many violations of municipal ordinances, misdemeanors trials, and preliminary hearings for all types of criminal cases. Magistrate Courts also have some jurisdiction over committals, forfeiture of bonds, acceptance of pleas, and other types of proceedings connected to criminal cases.

Typical civil cases that Magistrate Courts handle include damage claim, many general civil cases, property prized at less than $12,000, and damage claim. Every Magistrate Court has a Small Claims division that handles certain types of civil claims with less than $12,000.

South Dakota Magistrate Courts also handle requests for short-term abuse protection orders. They can also handle certain mental health cases. Besides, Magistrate Courts also handle cases that are under the jurisdiction limit of drug courts when the cases are assigned to them by the Circuit Courts.

Tribal Courts

Besides Magistrate Courts and Circuit Courts, South Dakota State has Tribal Courts system. These courts are independent and handle civil cases between tribal members. They also handle violations of tribal ordinances.

The Official Website of South Dakota County

Rapid City The City of Rapid City South Dakota
Aberdeen Aberdeen, SD – Official Website
Brookings Brookings, SD – Official Website
Watertown Watertown, SD – Official Website
Mitchell Mitchell, SD | Official Website
Yankton City of Yankton, SD
Pierre Pierre, SD – Official Website
Huron City of Huron, SD
Spearfish Welcome to City of Spearfish, SD
Vermillion Vermillion, SD | Official Website
Box Elder Box Elder, South Dakota | City of Box Elder The City of Box Elder, South Dakota is home of the Ellsworth Air Force base and welcomes you to the Gateway of the Black Hills.
Sturgis Official Website of the City of Sturgis, SD Official Website of the City of Sturgis, SD
Belle Fourche Official Website for the City of Belle Fourche, South Dakota Official Website for the City of Belle Fourche, South Dakota
Tea History – Tea, South Dakota Official Site for the City of Tea, South Dakota
Hot Springs Hot Springs, SD – Soak in Hot Springs Soak in the discovery of a lifetime in Hot Springs, South Dakota with unique attractions for all ages!
Minnehaha County Minnehaha County, South Dakota Official Website
Pennington County Pennington County, South Dakota Official website for Pennington County, South Dakota
Lincoln County Lincoln County South Dakota Official Website Lincoln County Official Website – South Dakota Official Website
Brookings County Brookings County, SD – Official Website
Codington County Codington County – Watertown, Florence, Henry, Kranzburg, South Shore, Wallace, and Waverly
Meade County County of Meade
Lawrence County Lawrence County, SD | Official Website
Yankton County Yankton County
Davison County Davison County
Hughes County Hughes County – South Dakota
Oglala Lakota County Oglala Lakota County, South Dakota
Lake County Lake County
Roberts County Roberts County, South Dakota
Grant County Welcome to GRANT COUNTY, ND
Spink County Spink County Government, Redfield SD 57469
Hamlin County Hamlin County, SD Government Hamlin County, South Dakota official government website with information of services provided by the county offices.
Lyman County Lyman County – Here to Serve You
Clark County Clark County